My Name is Wassim Klayme

Hello my name is Wassim Klayme and I’m a Home Support Worker with Northwood Homecare.

I may be the only male worker in my district, but I’m confident in what I do and always tell my clients that if they allow me their house, I’ll do whatever I can to help them.

I didn’t always know that home care is what I wanted to do. I spent 13 years as a butcher before realizing it was time to move on. A friend was working as an intern with Northwood’s Financial Services and mentioned to me that Northwood needed CCAs. I called the HR department and they suggested several schools I could attend. From the beginning of my education, I knew I wanted to do this line of work but I wondered if I could; it’s not a job for everyone. Once I finished my clinical placement at Northwood Halifax, I knew I could.

When I graduated three and a half years ago, I originally wanted to work at Ivany Place, but after my placement in home care, I liked the culture much better. It’s great being able to work independently with lots of support. I know how to do my job and I have never been never or uncomfortable walking into a client’s home. I have a lot of male clients. I’m their friend and the guy they can talk to about sports and politics. It’s difficult for a man to lose his independence, but I help them relate and provide that man-to-man understanding. Some clients have found me intimidating but I always try to get down on their level and put them at ease. I smile a lot and always have a friendly face. If your heart is in the right place, this is a great job. I try to always remember that we may be in different situations, but we’re all just people.

In my personal life, I’m a laid back kind of guy who likes to have fun. I love to travel and I do it as much as I can. I take an annual football trip with family to a different place every year and have also been south a number of times. Sports are also a passion of mine. I especially enjoy playing basketball and do it every Wednesday night with the guys. My family is a huge priority in my life and we always get together on Sunday for a big meal.